Not as a bride, but as a bridesmaid (for the seventh time…beginning to think they based “27 Dresses” on me…). And if you have never had the joy of being a bridesmaid in a Catholic wedding during the hottest part of the year…well….let me just say it is a unique form of torture reserved for only your very closest friends and family.

Normally I don’t have such a bad attitude about these things, but I was very much dreading this day due to my side effects. Now, I am glad that I did it. Seemed like the longest day of my life–in bed at midnight on Friday after helping with rehearsal dinner and shooting up with interferon, then up at 7 am on Saturday to do hair and makeup, to the church by 10:30 to take photos with the bride, ceremony from 2-3 (no lunch), then into a trolley (yes, a trolley, unairconditioned) to drive to the next town to take MORE photos. At one point I had to climb rocks behind a waterfall. In heels. Then, back to the reception hall where we have to parade in as the DJ announces our names…and look happy about it. And the entire time I’m schlepping around a cooler full of meds.

Why? Just…Why?

If I ever get married I’m eloping.

I made it through dinner and even stayed a til 8:30! I am so proud of myself. I did not pass out or puke on anyone, or have a fit of riba rage (it was a close call when the photog asked us to climb on the rocks), and my rash cleared up two weeks ago so I didn’t have to deal with that, thank goodness. I was asleep in my hotel by nine and slept until 10:50 the next morning. Would have been later but checkout was at 11:00!

So now on to packing all of my belongings to move for nursing school, which starts August 29th. My last day at work is August 10th and I move the weekend of the thirteenth. And I have way. too. much. stuff.

One hurdle at a time!

 

